Happy family

Find a legal form in minutes

Browse US Legal Forms’ largest database of 85k state and industry-specific legal forms.

Arkansas Energy Regulations

In Arkansas, the Arkansas Public Service Commission (APSC) is a proactive, solutions oriented agency that maximizes customer value and enhances the economic environment of the state.  The APSC functions include:

  • ensuring safe, reliable, and reasonably priced utility service;
  • educating consumers to make independent and informed choices;
  • ensuring the fair and equitable ad valorem assessment; and
  • equalization of public utility and carrier property.


The APSC regulates the intrastate rates and services of the public utilities in Arkansas.  These utilities provide electricity, natural gas, water, telephone, and pipeline safety services.  Through its Tax Division, the APSC determines ad valorem assessments for property tax purposes on public utilities and carriers  including telecommunications providers, electric, gas and water utilities, pipeline companies, railroads, airlines, barge lines, cable television providers, motor carriers, and bus lines.

The Arkansas Energy Office is a division of the Arkansas Economic Development Commission.  The Energy Office promotes energy efficiency and emerging technologies through energy education and information programs.  It manages federal energy funds in the State of Arkansas.

Small cities and counties receive grants from the Energy Office for saving energy, reducing utility bills, and using renewable energy.  The Arkansas Energy Office aims to provide essential information about all types of energy in Arkansas.  Educating Arkansans about efficient energy use is a top priority for the Arkansas Energy Office.

The Arkansas Economic Development Commission (AEDC) was established to stimulate job creation, retention, and capital investment and to support and increase the development capacity of communities.  In order to lead statewide economic development, the AEDC creates targeted strategies which produce better paying jobs, promote communities, and support the training  of a skilled workforce.  The Commission receives direction and guidance from the AEDC Commissioners.  The Commission consists of sixteen members appointed to four-year terms by the governor.  These appointments are made with the advice and consent of the state Senate.

The AEDC works through cross-functional teams involving people from throughout the Department as well as from other state agencies and customer groups.  The Director’s Office is responsible for the overall management of the Department and provides staff support for the Arkansas Economic Development Commission. Its Organizational Development function coordinates internal training and professional development opportunities.  The External Division consists of Business Development and Community Development functions.  The Internal Division consists of Research and Planning, Communications, and Administrative Services functions.

Arkansas Public Service Commission

Arkansas Energy Office

Arkansas Economic Development Commission

Inside Arkansas Energy Regulations